top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKacie Hwang

MY OAKWOOD 🌿

-Mrs. Helvey- Head of School


Oakwood Is Family, Near To Our Hearts And Minds ...

"What is Oakwood School like?"

To me, Oakwood is family. That means Oakwood is a place where all its members are known, challenged, and cherished. Being in a family requires diligent work, and there are expectations that we need to meet in order for all to not only feel safe, but to thrive. We recognize strengths as well as growth areas in ourselves and others because our hope is that everyone will become their best, most authentic self.


Oakwood School was founded on the belief that a well-rounded education for students provides the very best kind of learning laboratory. I began my independent school journey as a preschool student when I attended Pinewood School in Los Altos through 8th Grade and then attended Castilleja School in Palo Alto for high school. Unlike other students, however, I had a front row seat to school administration watching my grandmother, Pinewood School’s founder, Gwen Riches, give critical direction at her young growing school. I was fortunate to have the benefit of closely observing a strong female leader in action, and that relationship and those experiences have had a profound effect on me and my leadership. I could not have known then that one day I, too, would be a future school founder and head of school. I’m glad I paid attention way back when!

"What do you cherish most about Oakwood's heritage?"

Oakwood’s five-tenet mission is near and dear to my heart and my mind, and developed over years of experience around what is best for the whole student. I was heavily influenced by my upbringing and my own opportunities for learning at independent schools. At Oakwood we are committed to our mission by ensuring that students learn every subject from passionate experts, creating a culture of confident self-expression, upholding high academic expectations, sustaining strong moral examples including dignity, kindness, and respect, and leading students through an educational experience that inspires unbridled exploration. Not a day goes by that I don’t think about Oakwood's mission and its impact on students and their families. I feel extremely privileged to be at the helm, to work with exceptional administrators, faculty, and staff, and to take part in students learning and growing every day in an environment that always strives to bring out the best in everyone.












127 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page