top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKacie Hwang

MY JAPAN 🇯🇵

-Mrs. Frazer- Events, Engagements, and Athletics Coordinator


Revolving Around Little Works of Art ...

"What was growing up in a Japanese household like?"

There are many things I loved about growing up in a Japanese household. I loved most of the Japanese food but not all, some dishes were just not my acquired taste! My parents did not instill many cultural traditions because at the time, the world did not look kindly on Japanese Americans so they did their best to not call attention to themselves. Although I missed out on the opportunity of following many of the Japanese traditions, we did celebrate New Year's day which was a huge food event in our household. My mother would slave away for days to prepare numerous traditional dishes, some of which we only ate once a year.

Growing up, I remember my father being very strict and we dare not misbehave or there would be consequences! My mother was mild-mannered and kept us all sane. My father had expectations of all of his kids marrying someone of Japanese descent but his mind changed as time passed. His mindset was representative of the changing times as well. Although we may not have been a very traditional Japanese family in a lot of ways, we still maintained our culture through family gatherings, events, and remembrances.

"What do you cherish most about your cultural heritage?"

When I was young, I loved hearing how many people held Japanese people and their culture in high esteem. Adjectives often used were honest, polite, respectful, hardworking, and helpful. It made me proud to be of Japanese heritage and still does. Other elements I cherish are the way Japanese culture focuses on aesthetics. Seeing and appreciating the simple beauty in everything - nature, art, clothing, food, shrines, etc. I love the way gift packages are wrapped up so adorably, that each one is a little work of art. If I have to pick one thing, it would have to be the way family is cherished. I appreciate the way families respect and take care of their family members, especially the elders. This will come in handy very soon for me!


Next Time...

Mr. Berniker

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page